Deadline Every Minute Revisited

On November 27, 2018, I wrote an article headlined “Deadline Every Minute,” about a book written by Joe Alex Morris that traced the history of the United Press. If you are interested, you can find the article in the “categories” section under “Beau’s Corner” #3 or “Nostalgia.”

In reviewing that article, as I do every so often to determine if it is still relevant, I realized that I did not mention the names of some of the United Press members that will be familiar to many readers, especially those who are 50 years old or older.

The following are just some of those reporters who later pioneered in radio and television, became well-known authors or served in government:

Walter Cronkite, David Brinkley, Charles Collingwood, Helen Thomas, Thomas Friedman, Daniel Silva, H. Allen Smith, Raymond Clapper, Harrison Salisbury, Keith Olbermann, Richard C. Hottelet, Richard Helms, Seymour Hersh, Don Hewitt and Bob Considine.