Only 8.5% Vote in Primary Elections in Cape May County

Only 8.5% Vote in Primary Elections in Cape May County

The voter turnout for the 2014 primary elections in Cape May County, NJ, for both Republican and Democratic candidates, was anemic at best and many of those running were unopposed. Of the 69,038 voters registered in the county, only 5,865 voted or 8.50 %. So if you are unhappy with the results, you know who to blame.

Democratic Senator Cory Booker will face the Republican candidate, Jeff Bell, in the fall elections, while Republican Congressman Frank LoBiondo will go against Williams Hughes, Jr.

Sheriff Gary Schaffer ran unopposed, as did Freeholders Kristine Gabor and Will Morey. All are Republicans.

Among those contesting in the fall are the following: 

For Township Committee in Dennis Township, Republicans Frank Germano, Jr. and Julie DeRose against Democrats Donald Tozer and Lisa Salimbene.

For Township Committee in Middle Township, Republican Mayor Timothy Donohue will face Democrat Samuel Kelly.

The following Republicans will run unopposed: 

In Lower Township, Thomas Conrad in Council Ward 1; David Perry in Council Ward 2; Erik Simonsen in Council Ward 3.

In North Wildwood, David Del Conte in Council 1st Ward; Kellyann Tolomeo in Council 2nd Ward and Joseph Rullo in Council 2nd Ward Unexpired.

For Council Member in Stone Harbor​, Joselyn Rich and Karen Lane.

For Township Committee in Upper Township, Jeffrey Pierson.

For Mayor of Woodbine, William Pikolycky.

For Council Person in Woodbine, Hector Cruz and David Bennett.